Department Faculty

Faculty of the Department of Sociology and Criminal Justice enhance the learning environment at FAMU. Faculty encourage learning in many ways that encompass, but is not limited to, quality instruction, applied research, scholarly activity, and service that support the University’s mission. Faculty also create initiatives that benefit students’ academic success and preparation for the future.

Department Faculty

Bowen, Kristen, M.S.
Instructor
414C PERR    Phone: (850) 561-2258    Fax: (850) 599-8541
kristen.bowen@famu.edu

Brethauer-Gay, Helen, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
416C PERR    Phone: (850) 561-2255    Fax: (850) 599-8541
helen.brethauergay@famu.edu

Brown, Clifton, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
414A PERR    Phone: (850) 561-2257    Fax: (850) 599-8541
clifton.brown@famu.edu

Bushong, Lee C, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
412B PERR     Phone: (850) 561-2260     Fax: (850) 599-8541
lee.bushong@famu.edu

Dix-Richardson, Felecia, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
303C BLPC    Phone: (850) 599-8857    Fax: (850) 599-8541
felecia.dix@famu.edu

Gray-Ray, Phyllis, Ph.D.
Professor
416B PERR    Phone: (850) 599-3670    Fax: (850) 599-8541
phyllis.grayray@famu.edu

Hernandez Hiraldo, Samiri, Ph.D.
Adjunct
407B PERR    Phone: (850) 412-5797    Fax: (850) 599-8541
samiri.hiraldo@famu.edu

Hughes, Brenda, Ph.D.  
Associate Professor
416A PERR    Phone: (850) 561-2256    Fax: (850) 599-8541
brenda.hughes@famu.edu

Metzger, Nzinga, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
310C BLPC    Phone: (850) 599-8856    Fax: (850) 599-8541
nzinga.metzger@famu.edu

Parker, Keith D., Ph.D.
Professor
414B PERR    Phone: (850) 599-8285    Fax: (850) 599-8541
keith.parker@famu.edu

Robertson, Ray Von, Ph.D.
Professor
208 ARCH     Phone: (850) 561-2224     Fax: (850) 599-8541
ray.robertson@famu.edu

Thompson, Annie Gainous, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
212A Tucker Hall    Phone: (850) 599-8475   
annie.thompson@famu.edu

Turner, Milanika, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
214 Foster-Tanner Fine Arts East  
Phone: (850) 599-8757     Fax: (850) 599-8541
milanika.turner@famu.edu

Turnquest, Roscoe, M.A.S.S.
Instructor
302C BLPC    Phone: (850) 412-7568    Fax: (850) 599-8541
roscoe.turnquest@famu.edu

Washington-Johnson, Kenya, JD
Associate Professor
210 ARCH     Phone: (850) 561-2225    Fax: (850) 599-8541
kenya.washington@famu.edu

Welch, Phyllis, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Chair, Department of Sociology and Criminal Justice
403D PERR    Phone: (850) 599-3316    Fax: (850) 599-8541 
phyllis.welch@famu.edu

Contact Department of Sociology and Criminal Justice

Phone: (850) 599-3316,  Fax: (850) 599-8541
1740 South Martin Luther King Jr Boulevard
Perry Paige #403
Tallahassee, Florida 32307